Overview

When 'Types of Work' feature is turned ON, you can manage types of work available in the system (see section Turn Features On / Off for more information).

Type of work management includes the following activities:

To access the interfaces for type of work management click on the settings icon in the top right hand corner of actiTIME menu and select 'Types of Work' menu option.

Only the users who have the 'Manage System Settings' permission can manage types of work. Note that the users who do not have this permission will not see type of work management interfaces at all.

Browse Types of Work

Select option 'Types of Work' in the top-level menu 'Settings' to get the list of registered types of work.

Types of Work interface

For each of the types of work, the list presents:

  • Name of the type of work

  • Status of the type of work - either 'active' or 'archived'.

    Archived types of work are not available for selection when new tasks are added, but still available for viewing in the reports.

    You can change type of work status directly in the type of work list. To do that just click on the status you want to change.

  • Category of the type of work - either 'Billable' or 'Non-Billable'.

    You can change category of the type of work directly in the type of work list. To do that just click on the type you want to change.

  • Billing rates are supported in actiTIME Pro and actiTIME Online editions only

    Billing Rate - hourly rate associated with the type of work

  • Option allowing to configure the type of work as the default type of work

    If a type of work is already configured as the default type of work, word 'Default' is shown instead of the link 'set as default' (see also section Set the Default Type of Work).

  • Options for changing the order of types of work in actiTIME interfaces

  • Option for type of work deletion

    The option is shown only for those types of work that are not associated with tasks.

Use form at the top of the interface to filter list of types of work by their type and status.

Names of types of work are clickable. A click on a type of work name opens the Edit Type of Work interface.

Create New Types of Work

To register new types of work follow the instructions below:

In order to create a new type of work go to the Types of Work interface and click 'Create New Type of Work' button. For information on how to get to the Types of Work interface see section Browse Types of Work.

Create New Type of Work interface
  1. Enter the name of a type of work to create.

    Each type of work name shall be unique among the registered types of work. The check for uniqueness is case-insensitive. So types of work 'Web Development' and 'web development' will be considered as the same.

  2. You can specify billing rates within actiTIME Pro and actiTIME Online editions only

    Specify category of the type of work - either 'Billable' or 'Non-Billable'.

  3. Specify billing rate, if you chose the category 'Billable'.

  4. When you are ready, submit the page by clicking the 'Create Type of Work' button at the bottom of the interface. The system will register a new type of work with specified name and show you the Types of Work interface.

If you decided not to add a new type of work, click the 'Cancel' button at the bottom of the page. The system will discard all the information entered in the interface and show you the Types of Work interface.

Set the Default Type of Work

The default type of work is used as pre-configured type of work when you create new tasks.

To set the default type of work follow the instructions below:

  1. Open the Types of Work interface (see section Browse Types of Work for information on how to do that).

  2. Click the 'set as default' link shown next to the name of the type of work you want to configure as the default type of work.

    The system will set the selected type of work as the default one and update the Type of Work interface.

    Only an active type of work can be configured as the default type of work.

Edit Type of Work

To edit the name of a type of work follow the instructions below:

  1. Click a type of work name in the Types of Work interface to open the Edit Type of Work interface. For information on how to get to the Type of Work - interface see section Browse Type of Work.

    Interface Edit Type of Work
  2. Update type of work name.

    Note that each the name of each type of work should be unique among the registered types of work. The check for uniqueness is case-insensitive. So types of work 'Web Development' and 'web development' will be considered the same.

  3. You can specify billing rates within actiTIME Pro and actiTIME Online editions only

    Update type and status of the type of work. If you changed type to the 'Billable' one, specify billing rate.

  4. Submit the modifications by clicking the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom of the page. The system will update the name of the selected type of work and show you the Types of Work page.

If you decided not to edit the selected type of work, click the 'Cancel' button at the bottom of the page. The system will reject the modifications of the type of work name and show you the Types of Work page.

Change Order of Types of Work

Types of Work are shown in all actiTIME interfaces in the order configured in the Types of Work interface.

By default types of work are shown in the order of their creation. You can change order of types of work using controls in the column 'Change Order':

Controls for reordering types of work

For information on how to get to the Types of Work interface see section Browse Types of Work.

Delete Type of Work

Only those types of work that are not associated with tasks can be deleted from the system.

There are two ways to delete an unused type of work:

  • Click an appropriate 'delete' link in the Types of Work interface (see section Browse Types of Work for information on how to get to this page).

  • Open the Edit Type of Work interface (see section Edit Type of Work for information on how to get to this page) and click the 'Delete This Type of Work' button.

    Note, that if the status of the selected type of work is 'in use', the 'Delete This Type of Work' button is disabled.

In both cases you will be asked to confirm the type of work deletion. If you confirm it, the system will delete the selected type of work and show you the Types of Work interface.