Section Contents

Departments functionality is available in actiTIME Pro and actiTIME Online editions only

Overview

When 'Departments' feature is turned ON in the system settings, you can join users into departments.

Each actiTIME user can belong to one department. Users that are not associated with a specific department are referenced in actiTIME interfaces as 'Users Without Department'.

Departments are managed in the 'Manage Departments' lightbox. In this lightbox you can create new departments, rename and delete existing departments, and move users between departments.

Manage User departments in timesheet
Manage Departments lightbox

The left part of the lightbox shows alphabetical list of departments. Number shown in the round brackets after a departments name indicates how many users with enabled access are included in it.

The right part of the lightbox shows alphabetical list of users included in the selected department. By default only users with enabled access are shown. To view department members with disabled access select 'Show users with disabled access' option below the user list.

To open 'Departments' lightbox, click on the 'Departments' link in the User List interface.

Open department interface
'Departments' link

Management of departments is available for the users with 'Manage Accounts & Permissions' permission.

'Department' is the default name.

You can enter a custom name for your departments in the system settings (e.g. Locations, Cost Centers, etc.) The specified name will be used in all actiTIME interfaces for referencing departments. See General System Settings section for more information.

Create New Department

To create a new department follow the instructions below:

  1. Click 'Departments' button in the User List interface to open Manage Departments lightbox.

  2. Enter the name of the department to create in the input field located at the bottom of the interface. Note that each department should have a unique name.

    Create new department in timesheet
    Creating new department
  3. Click on the 'Add' button or press the Enter key on the keyboard. The new department will be created and shown in the list of departments. Now you can add members to the newly created department.

You can create new departments simultaneously with creating new user accounts. See Add New User section for more information.

Rename Department

To create a new department, follow the instructions below:

  1. Click 'Departments' button in the User List interface to open Manage Departments lightbox.

  2. Click on the department name to edit.

    Edit department in timesheet
    Edit Department
  3. Edit department name in the input field that will appear. Note that each department should have a unique name.

    Department name editing
    Renaming departments
  4. Press the Enter key or click on the checkmark icon to submit the modifications. The system will save your modifications and show the renamed department in the list sorted according to its new name.

If you decided not to edit the selected department, click on the 'undo' icon or press the Cancel key.

Move Users Between Departments

To move users from one department to another, follow the instructions below:

  1. Click 'Departments' button in the User List interface to open Manage Departments lightbox.

  2. Select the department you want to move users from in the left part of the interface.

    Move users between departments
    Drag-and-drop users from one department to another
  3. Select the users to move in the right part of the interface and then drag and drop them to the target department.

    User department change
    Drag-and-drop users from one department to another

    If you do not want to use drag-and-drop function, select target department it in the 'Move To' menu located at the bottom of the interface.

    Move users between groups
    'Move To' menu

Delete Department

To delete a department, follow the instructions below:

  1. Click 'Departments' button in the User List interface to open Manage Departments lightbox.

  2. Click on the 'Delete Department' icon shown next to the department name to delete and confirm the deletion of the department. The system will delete the selected department.

    Delete department in timesheet
    'Delete Department' icon

    If the selected department contained users before deletion, these users will be removed from this department and will be considered to be 'users without department'.