Try Free

Turning Features On/Off

01-turning-features

As an admin user with the “Manage System Settings” permission, you can decide which features you will use and which you won’t. We recommend to go through all the features during initial setup of actiTIME. You can also go back and adjust these settings at any time.

To review the list of all available features, go to the Settings → Turn Features On / Off interface:

02-turning-features

Turning the feature off does not delete any related data. Feature controls and related data will be simply hidden from the actiTIME interfaces. If you turn the feature back on, all previously entered data will be available again.

Below you can find detailed information on all features available in actiTIME.

Working Time Entry for Future Dates

This feature allows you to enter working time and comments for future dates. Note that leave time can be reported in advance without enabling this feature.

If you are using an integrated actiPLANS account, any leave time requests for future dates should be submitted via actiPLANS.

Leave Time Tracking

This feature allows you to report leave time. When it is turned on:

  • Admin users can set up any number of leave types in the Settings > Leave Types interface.
  • Managers can run the Leave Time report and include leave information in other reports.
  • Regular users can report leave time in the Enter Time-Track interface, choosing from the available leave types, and run a personal Leave Time report.
03-turning-features

PTO Balance Calculations

Paid Time Off (or PTO for short) means paid leave time accrued by an employee. The bank of earned paid time off is called the PTO Balance.

When this feature is turned on:

  • Admin users can define default PTO accrual rules in the General Settings interface and create leave types tied to the PTO Balance.
  • Managers with the “Manage Accounts & Permissions” right can enable PTO control for employees and set up individual PTO rules for them in the Users > PTO Settings tab.
  • Managers can run the Leave Time & PTO report for their team or all system users, depending on their permissions.
  • Regular users can view their PTO Balance in the View Time-Track interface and run a personal Leave Time & PTO report.
04-turning-features

Sick Days Balance Calculations

Sick Days refer to a number of days that an employee can take off due to illness, medical treatment, etc. The bank of earned sick days is called the Sick Days Balance. It works the same way as the PTO Balance feature.

When this feature is turned on:

Overtime Registration

This feature allows you to automatically calculate overtime based on user’s work schedule. Any time reported in excess of a standard working day, on public holidays, or weekends is considered overtime. For more details, check the Time Balance & Overtime report description.

When this feature is turned on:

  • Admin users can define default overtime settings in the General Settings interface.
  • Managers with the “Manage Accounts & Permissions” right can set up individual overtime settings for the staff members in the Users tab.
  • Managers can run the Time Balance & Overtime report for their team or all system users, depending on their permissions.
  • Regular users can view their overtime in the Enter Time-Track interface and on personal reports (if allowed in the visibility settings).
05-turning-features

What else is good to know:

  • Overtime values cannot be negative.
  • You can select between automatic overtime calculation and manual entry. This is set up in the user’s settings panel.
  • To see the balance of overtime and undertime (insufficient working hours), use the Time BalanceIt is available in the View Time-Track interface and in the Time Balance & Overtime report.
  • To set up an overtime pay rate, make sure that the User Rates & Cost of Work Report feature is turned on and configure rates in users’ settings panel.

Time-Track Approval

With this feature you can set up the approval of weekly timesheets. When it is turned on:

  • Managers with the “Manage Accounts & Permissions” right can set up approvers in the Users tab or enable automatic approval.
  • Managers with the “Modify & Approve Users’ Time-Track” right can approve or reject timesheets for their team.
  • Regular users can submit their timesheets for approval.

What else is good to know:

  • Only a single approval is required, meaning that if a user has multiple approvers, timesheets need to be approved only by one of them.
  • Time is approved by weeks and not on a per-project basis.
  • You can filter time by its approval status in a number of reports (Staff Performance, Time-Track In Detail, Billing Summary).
  • You can allow managers to modify timesheets of users with enabled auto-approval by selecting a special setting in the General Settings.

User Departments

This feature allows you to join users into departments, teams or any other group of your choice. When it is turned on:

06-turning-features

Time Zone Groups

This feature allows you to join users into offices or branches that are located in different time zones. When it is turned on:

When the feature is turned off, you can still set up a time zone in the user settings panel, but cannot group users by this parameter.

Task Estimates

With this feature you can enter time estimates for tasks and see the variance between the estimated and actual time spent by your team. When it is turned on:

  • Admin users can set up email notifications on exceeded estimates in the Settings > Notifications menu.
  • Managers with the “Manage Scope of Work” permission can enter and edit estimates for tasks from their scope.
  • Managers can run the Estimated vs. Actual Time report for their team or all system users, depending on their permissions.
  • Regular users can review task estimates in the task properties and run a personal Estimated vs. Actual Time report.

Task Workflow

With this feature you can create any number of workflow statuses for tasks. This is helpful for keeping track of the work process and making it more transparent. Additionally, you can review tasks sorted by statuses in the Kanban view of the TasksWhen it is turned on:

If you turn this feature off, tasks can have only two statuses: Open and Completed.

07-turning-features

Work Assignments

With this feature you can allocate work to your team, allowing them to report time to selected tasks. Not assigned part of the scope will not be visible to the users.

When this feature is turned on:

Turning this feature off means that all users with the “Enter Time-Track” permission will be able to view all customers, projects and tasks in the system, and track time to all tasks.

User Rates & Cost of Work Report

This feature allows you to set up hourly pay rates for users. There are three types of them in actiTIME: regular, overtime, and leave time rates. They are called Cost of Work rates.

When this feature is turned on:

  • Admin users can set up email notifications on personal earnings and exceeded project budgets in the Settings > Notifications menu.
  • Managers with the “Manage Accounts & Permissions” and “Manage Cost & Billing Data” rights can enter and edit pay rates in the user settings panel.
  • Managers with the “Manage Cost & Billing Data” permission can run the Cost of Work report and generate charts based on user rates.
08-turning-features

Types of Work

This feature allows you to categorize tasks as billable or non-billable, as well as group them by activity type. When it is turned on:

  • Admin users can create and edit types of work in the Settings > Types of Work menu.
  • Managers with the “Manage Scope of Work” and “Manage Cost & Billing Data” permissions can select types of work for tasks from their scope.
  • Managers with the “Manage Cost & Billing Data” permission can run the Billing Summary report for their team.
  • Managers and regular users can group data by type of work on selected time reports.
09-turning-features

Hourly Billing Rates, Invoices & Profit/ Loss Report

With this feature, you can set up billing rates for tasks by associating them with types of work. Billing rates can be used to calculate billable amounts and create invoices.

When it is turned on:

  • Admin users can specify billing rates for types of work in the Settings > Types of Work menu.
  • Managers with the “Manage Scope of Work” and “Manage Cost & Billing Data” permissions can set up billing rates for tasks by associating them with particular types of work.
  • Managers with the “Manage Cost & Billing Data” permission can run the Billing Summary and Profit/Loss report, as well as generate invoices.
Still have questions? Let us help you.