Try Free

How to Manage Departments

When the Departments feature is turned ON in the system settings, you can join users into departments.

Each actiTIME user can belong to one department at a time. Users that are not associated with a specific department are referenced as “Users Without Department”. If you need additional grouping, for example by location, you can use the Time Zone Groups for that.

To manage departments, go to the Users tab, click Manage Groups button (top right of the screen) and select Departments.

managing-departments-user-groups-button-departments

In the “Manage Departments” popup window, you can:

Any of these actions requires the “Manage Accounts & Permissions” right.

managing-departments-user-groups-lightbox

The left part of the popup lists all departments in alphabetical order. The number in brackets indicates how many active users there are in a department.

The right part of the popup lists all users from a specific department in alphabetical order. By default, only active users are shown. To view department members with disabled access, select “Show disabled accounts” option below the user list.

'Department' is the default name.

You can enter a custom name for your departments in the system settings (e.g. Locations, Cost Centers, etc.) The specified name will be used in all actiTIME interfaces for referencing departments. See the Basic System Settings section for more information.

Create New Department

To create a new department:

  1. Click Manage Groups > Departments button in the User List interface.
  2. Type the name of the new department in the text box at the bottom of the interface. Note that each department should have a unique name.
    user_groups_create_new
  3. Click Add or press the Enter key on the keyboard. The new department will be created and shown in the list of departments. Now you can add members to the newly created department.

You can create new departments simultaneously with creating new user accounts. See How to Manage User Accounts section for more information.

Rename Department

To rename a department:

  1. Click Manage Groups > Departments button in the User List interface.
  2. Click on the department name to edit.
    managing-departments-rename-department
  3. Edit the department name in the text box. Note that each department should have a unique name.
  4. Press the Enter key or click on the checkmark icon to save the modifications.

If you decided not to edit the selected department, click on the cross icon or press Escape on your keyboard.

Move Users Between Departments

To move users from one department to another:

  1. Click Manage Groups > Departments button in the User List interface.
  2. Select the department you want to move users from.
    managing-departments-move-select
  3. In the right part of the interface, select the users to move and then drag and drop them to the target department.
    managing-departments-drag-n-drop

Alternatively, select target department it in the Move To menu at the bottom of the interface.

user_groups_move_menu

Delete Department

To delete a department:

  1. Click Manage Groups > Departments button in the User List interface.
  2. Click on the cross icon next to the department name and confirm the deletion. Any users from this department will be moved to the “Users Without Department” group.
    managing-departments-delete-department
Still have questions? Let us help you.