Try Free

How to Manage User Accounts

When you click on Users tab of the top menu, User List interface with all registered system users shows up. From here, you can:

  • Invite new users
  • Manage accounts of existing users
  • Disable and enable accounts
  • Group users by departments and time zone groups

Any of these actions requires the “Manage Accounts & Permissions” right.

If you only have the “Manage Scope of Work” permission, then the Users tab gives you only one management option:

  • Grant your team members access to work assignments

If you have the “Manage Cost & Billing Data” permission, it gives you only one, but very important user management option:

  • Edit cost of work rates for your team members
users-account-accounts-permissions

User accounts marked with icon are integrated with actiPLANS, leave time management tool.

manage-user-aP

Regular users can access the list of users in the “Accounts & Permissions” tab without editing it. If you don’t want them to view this information, you can enable a special setting in the Settings > General Settings > Data Access Restrictions section.

Inviting New Users

In actiTIME Online, there are two ways to add new users:

  • One by one. This is helpful when you need to configure all account settings before sending the invitation to the new user.
  • In bulk. This way, you can speed up the invitation process, as you only need to enter the basic information and apply a permissions template.

To add users individually:

  • Click ’+ New User’ button (top right of the Users screen).
  • Fill out user’s details, such as first name, last name, and email.
  • Use the option Copy settings from… and select a user whose settings you’d like to take, or configure everything from scratch.
  • Define user’s permissions in the Permissions tab.
  • Next, click Save & Send Invitation button. Your colleague will receive an email with the link to access actiTIME and configure their password. This is a necessary step in order to activate their account.
users-account-add-user-settings

Note that you can edit this data later at any time. For more details, see the “Managing user’s account data” subsection.

To add many users at once, proceed as following:

  • Click the ‘Bulk Invitations’ button (top right of the Users screen).
  • In the invitation form, enter users’ first and last names and emails.
  • Apply the permission template by choosing it from the drop-down menu. You can also review and modify templates right away by clicking Edit user permissions template option.
  • Click Send Invitations button. Each of your coworkers will receive a personal invitation to the system to activate their account.
users-account-invite-several-users

New users’ profiles will be instantly added to the user list. You can then configure users’ personal settings, such as hire date, work schedule or pay rates:

  • Go back to the User List > Accounts & Permissions tab.
  • Click on the user in question and edit their account settings.

Enabling, Disabling and Deleting Users

In the Account Settings tab of a user profile, you can enable, disable and delete system users.

To disable or enable a user, turn off or on their access to actiTIME:

users-account-disabling-user

When you disable a user:

  1. They cannot access actiTIME. Disable a user if you don’t want them to see and edit any data in the system (e.g. employees who left the company).
  2. They are not included in the total user count. Disable an unnecessary user account to free up a user seat.
  3. All their time-tracking data and comments are kept in the system for reporting purposes. This is to ensure that your historical reports are correct.

Disabled users accounts are marked with gray background. Use the checkbox in the Users interface to see disabled accounts:

users-account-show-disabled-accounts

To delete a user, use the button in the top right part of the user’s Account Settings.

Note that this button will only be active if there are no hours or comments reported by this user. To remove a user from the system, first clean up all data entered by this user and then delete their account.

users-account-delete-user

Managing User’s Account Data

To manage user’s account information, go to the User List > Accounts & Permissions tab and click the user in question. Account settings panel will open.

Here you can edit the following parameters:

  • Basic account data: first, middle and last name, username and email. You can also reset the user’s password by clicking the Reset Password link.
  • Department and time zone group

    You can keep the department unassigned. Time zone group, if not assigned specifically, is set to the default group as configured in the Settings > General Settings. Both for departments and time zone groups, you can choose from the existing ones or create a new group right in the user’s account settings.

    manage-user-department
  • Hire and release date.

    By default, hire date is set to the day when user’s account has been created, but you can change it at any time.

  • Approval settings.

    Here you can choose whether user’s time-track will be approved by their manager or automatically.

  • Work schedule.

    Tick the checkbox “Use corporate settings” to apply the system setting, or configure an individual schedule. Simply click on the cell to edit the number of work hours on each day:

    manage-user-schedule

    New schedules are applied from the day they have been edited.

  • Overtime setting.

    Tick the checkbox “Use corporate settings” to apply the system setting, or choose an individual overtime calculation mode for the user. This setting is available when “Overtime Registration” feature is enabled in the Turn Features On/Off interface.

    Overtime calculation mode can be one of the following:

    • Disabled - overtime is not calculated, and the section for entering overtime is hidden in the user's “Enter Time-Track” interface.
    • Automatic calculation, hidden from the user – overtime is calculated and can be seen on reports, but the section displaying overtime is not shown in the user's “Enter Time-Track” interface.
    • Automatic calculation, visible for the user - the section displaying overtime is shown in the user's “Enter Time-Track” interface, but the user cannot modify the automatically calculated values.
    • Allow user to enter overtime manually - the section displaying overtime is shown in the user's 'Enter Time-Track' interface, and the user can enter the overtime manually.
  • Cost of Work rates.

    These hourly rates can be used for calculating salaries, leave pay and overtime pay. They are available when “User Rates & Cost of Work Report” feature is enabled in the Turn Features On/Off interface.

    The available cost of work rates include:

    • Regular rate - rate for the regular working hours.
    • Overtime rate - rate for the overtime hours. Note that it can be entered only when overtime tracking is enabled for the user.
    • Leave time rates - rates for all active leave types registered in the system.

    New rates are applied starting from the date they have been edited.

    manage-user-cost-of-work
  • User’s permissions.

    Use the “Permissions” tab to grant and revoke user’s permissions, allowing them to access certain work scope and user information. For more details, see How to Manage Permissions section.

Still have questions? Let us help you.