Try Free

How to Manage Permissions

User permissions are used to control what exactly functionality and data users are allowed to access in actiTIME. There are no specific roles – you are free to set up any permission sets as required for your process.

However, for easier reference we will also use the following terms:

  • Regular users who only have the Enter Time-Track permission.
  • Managers who have one or several management permissions. They might also have a team assigned to them (but not necessarily).
  • Admin users who have the “Manage Accounts & Permissions” or “Manage System Settings” permissions, or both.

To manage other users’ permissions, you need to have the “Manage Accounts & Permissions” right.

The Users tab is where you can grant, revoke or edit existing permissions. Click the user’s name and go to the Account Settings → Permissions tab.

First, there is a group of four management permissions. Each of them can be applied to specific work scope and users.

Permission
Allows you to:
Gives access to:
Manage Accounts & Permissions
All system users and entire work scope (by default)
Manage Scope of Work
Selected users and scope*
Modify & Approve Users Time-Track
Selected users and scope*
Manage Cost & Billing Data
  • Run cost & billing reports for your team members
  • Edit users’ cost of work rates for your team members
  • Edit types of work for tasks within assigned scope
Selected users and scope*
Allows you to:
Gives access to:

Cells marked with * (asterisk) mean that access levels for these permissions can be additionally modified in the General Settings > Data Access Restrictions section.

To grant a permission:

  • Tick the checkbox next to the required permission.
  • Configure access to specific users by clicking Access to Users and selecting specific users or teams.

    For the “Manage Scope of Work” permission, you can skip this step altogether if the user doesn’t need the ability to assign work to other users.

  • Configure access to specific scope of work by clicking Access to Scope of Work and selecting specific customers, projects or tasks. If a user has the “Enter Time-Track” permission, this scope will be automatically added to user’s work assignments.

Note that when you set up access to users and scope, this setting is applied to all four permissions.

permissions-data-access-permissions

Other permissions that don’t have configurable access to work scope and users include the following:

Permission
Allows you to:
Gives access to:
Enter Time-Track
Selected scope defined in work assignments and own data*
Lock Time-Track for Any User
All system users*
Manage PTO & Sick Days Balances
All system users
Manage System Settings
All system settings License information
Allows you to:
Gives access to:

Cells marked with * (asterisk) mean that access levels for these permissions can be additionally modified in the General Settings > Data Access Restrictions section.

When the “Departments” feature is disabled in Turn Features On / Off, permissions are applied to all users in the system.

How else you can manage access to system data

Once you have set up permissions for all users, you can additionally fine-tune access levels in the Data Access Restrictions section of the General Settings. This requires the “Manage System Settings” permission.

Here you can extend or restrict access to certain information as described in the table below:

Setting
Enabled
Disabled
Allow selected users to see time-track of all users in reports and task details tab
Any user specified in the selector can access other users’ time-track details in reports and task properties.
Regular users can only see their own data and summarized data of other users in reports and task properties. Managers can see detailed data of their team members in reports and task properties.
Hide time-track details from managers not assigned to relevant tasks
In the Enter Time-Track and View Time-Track interfaces, managers can see only total hours for tasks that are not included in their permission scope.
In the Enter Time-Track and View Time-Track interfaces, managers can see all time-track details for all tasks, no matter whether these tasks belong to the manager’s scope or not.
Hide time-track details in the “Lock Time-Track” interface
In the Lock Time-Track interface, managers with the “Lock Time-Track” permission see only time totals without details on specific tasks.
In the Lock Time-Track interface, managers with the “Lock Time-Track” permission see all time-track details for all users.
Hide not assigned users from the User List
Regular users don’t see any other users in the Account Settings interface. Managers can see users from their team only.
In the Users interface on the Account Settings tab, anyone can see the list of all users.
Allow manager to modify and view time-track of users configured for automatic approval
In the Enter Time-Track and View Time-Track interfaces, managers with the “Modify & Approve Users’ Time-Track” permission can view and edit time-track of all users from their team (both auto- and manually approved).
In the Enter Time-Track and View Time-Track interfaces, managers with the “Modify & Approve Users’ Time-Track” permission can edit time-track only for manually approved users from their team.
Enabled
Disabled

Who can grant permissions and define permission scope?

Managers with the “Manage Accounts & Permissions” right can grant permissions to any user and decide what scope and what team a user will be able to access under these permissions.

Who can configure additional data visibility settings?

Admin users with the “Manage System Settings” right can configure data visibility levels in the Data Access Restrictions section of the General Settings.

Still have questions? Let us help you.